CORK CITY TOP VISITOR ATTRACTIONS!
Enjoy a tour and whiskey tasting at their home in Midleton
Jameson Distillery Midleton
For over 200 years they called Dublin home, but in 1975 they moved their ever expanding operation to the green expanses of Midleton, Co. Cork. The big move wasn’t without risk, but the migration certainly paid dividends in the whiskey making department. Their new home provided the space they needed to stretch their legs and their whiskey making ambitions, proximity to barley farmers and freshwater probably aren’t what people typically look for when house hunting, but Midleton seemed to have everything they need as well as the extra space for visitors.
The Old Distillery, Distillers Walk, Midleton
(021) 461 3594
The home of the Blarney Stone
Blarney Castle And Gardens
Built nearly six hundred years ago by one of Ireland’s greatest chieftans, Cormac MacCarthy, and has been attracting attention ever since. Over the last few hundred years, millions have flocked to Blarney making it a world landmark and one of Ireland’s greatest treasures.
Now that might have something to do with the Blarney Stone, the legendary Stone of Eloquence, found at the top of our tower. Kiss it and you’ll never again be lost for words.
00 353 21 438 5252
Explore Fortress Spike
In the last 1300 years Spike Island has been host to a 6th century Monastery, a 24 acre Fortress, the largest convict depot in the world in Victorian times and centuries of island homes. The island’s rich history has included monks and monasteries, rioters and redcoats, captains and convicts and sinners and saints.
Today the island is dominated by the 200 year old Fort Mitchel, the star shaped Fortress which became a prison holding over 2300 prisoners. Take the scenic ferry ride from Kennedy Pier, Cobh, and enjoy a fully guided tour of our island and fortress, and relax in our cafe and picnic areas. Get captured in the history and mystery of this magical heritage island. WINNER of EUROPE’S LEADING TOURIST ATTRACTION 2017 at the WORLD TRAVEL AWARDS!
Carrig House, Cobh
(085) 851 8818
Live the history – feel the story
Titanic Experience Cobh is located in Casement Square in the heart of Cobh Town. Their home is the original White Star Line Ticket Office, a building steeped in history dating back to the early 19th century and the departure point for many thousands of White Star Line passengers. When you arrive, check-in with them at reception and let them tell you the story of those 123 passengers.
White Star Line Building, 20 Casement Square, Cobh
(021) 481 4412
‘TERROR FROM THE SEA’
Charles Fort is one of the finest surviving examples of a 17th Century star-shaped fort. Constructed in 1682 and garrisoned by the British Army until 1922, Charles Fort overlooks the Old Head of Kinsale and the mouth of the Bandon river. Today, this formidable structure provides a platform to enjoy the breathtaking views of Kinsale town and harbour. In excess of 75,000 visitors a year enter via the drawbridge and step back in time to explore this ‘terror from the sea’. Commanding the seaward approach into Kinsale, Charles Fort is a five bastioned star shaped fort. This remarkable piece of military engineering was completed during the reign of King Charles II. Good walking shoes are recommended as visitors will want to explore all 20 acres of one of the finest military installations within Ireland.
021 477 2263
Mizen Head Signal Station
Mizen Head Signal Station is open to the public for the first time since it was completed in 1910. The Mizen Vision! Visitor Centre in the Keeper’s House and the Engine Room, the famous Suspension Bridge, the 99 Steps and the views up the South and West Coasts combined with the exhilaration and excitement of the wild Atlantic waves and ancient tortured rocks guarantee a unique and authentic experience.
You are very welcome to the Mizen! Don’t miss it!
The Harbour Road, Goleen, West Cork
+ 353 28 35115
Timoleague abbey was founded by the franciscan order in 1240 A.D. The abbey was built on the site of a monastic settlement founded by Saint Molaga in the 6th century.
The village’s name comes from the Irish for House of Molaga, Tigh Mologa.The abbey was extended by Donal Glas McCarthy in 1312, and by Irish and Norman patrons in the 16th century.
The monks were dispersed by the Reformation, but returned in 1604. In 1612 the abbey was sacked by English soldiers who also smashed all of the stained glass windows, but much of the significant architecture remains. The friars remained in the abbey until 1629.
Castle Lower, Co. Cork
Steeped in history the story of Mallow Castle can be traced back to the 12th century when a Norman castle was first built on the site. Just over a hundred years later it was replaced with another and passed through various hands over hundreds of years until Sir Thomas Norreys, inherited the 6,000 acre estate in 1596.
It is now a ruins fortification, even though it resisted the besiegement by Mountgarrett in 1642, but was later captured by Lord Castlehaven and the Confederates in 1645, only to be abandoned soon after.