8 TOP PLACES YOU MUST VISIT IN CORK
CORK CITY TOP VISITOR ATTRACTIONS!
Cork’s most famous food market
Situated in the heart of Cork City, the English Market is a roofed food market and has been trading since 1788.
Developed and still owned by Cork City Council, the Market is one of the oldest municipal markets of it’s kind in the world.
The trading stalls are held under 21 year leases from the City Council.
Princes St, Centre, Cork
St. Anne’s Church Shandon Bells
Enjoy the Unique experience of Ringing the world famous
Shandon Bells from the first floor.
Climb 132 steps and see spectacular 360 degree views of the city at 36.65m/120ft.
View the internal workings of the clocks, the ‘Four Faced Liar’ and see the
18th Century bells in the Belfry.
Unwind and be at peace in the beautiful surrounds of St. Anne’s Church – one of the oldest churches in the city built in 1722.
Church St, Shandon, Cork
00353 21 4505906
Cork Public Museum & Fitzgerald’s Park
Cork Public Museum located in the peaceful oasis of Fitzgerald’s Park has been displaying a wealth of Cork’s History and more since 1910. It is well laid out in this new purpose built building and with a cafe also for the family.
Having visited Cork Public Museum take a stroll through the beautiful landscaped gardens, with its many outdoor pieces and sculptures, and enjoy a riverside walk beside the River Lee in Fitzgerald’s Park, which has flowers and colour throughout the year.
00353 21 4505906
Cork City Gaol
Cork City Gaol, is a magnificent castle-like building which once housed 19th century prisoners. Take a trip back in time and wander through the wings of the Gaol, accompanied by the shuffling feet of inmates and the jingle of the warders’ keys.
The cells are furnished with amazingly life-like wax figures and Graffiti on the cell walls reveals the innermost feelings of some inmates.
Sunday’s Well, Cork
Elizabeth Fort is situated on the south side of the city and is said to be one of the finest examples of a 17th century star-shaped fort. Originally built in 1601 during the reign of Elizabeth I, it was replaced in 1624 by a stronger fort which had the same basic outline as that which survives today. Since 2014, the fort has seen some development as a tourism heritage site, reportedly attracting 36,000 visitors during 2015. The walls of the fort have been accessible to the public on a regular basis since September 2014.
Barrack St, The Lough, Cork
Crawford Art Gallery
Crawford Art Gallery, a National Cultural Institution and regional art museum for Munster, is dedicated to the visual arts, both historic and contemporary. Located in the heart of Cork City, beside the Opera House, the Gallery is a critical part of Ireland’s cultural and tourism infrastructure, welcoming over 200,000 visitors a year.
The Gallery’s permanent collection comprises over 2,000 works, ranging from 18th century Irish and European paintings and sculptures, through to contemporary video installations.
Emmett Pl, Cork
+353 (0)21 480 5042
5 KM. FROM CITY CENTRE
Blackrock Castle Observatory
Housed in a historic 16th century fort with panoramic views of Cork harbour, Blackrock Castle is today home to a research observatory, science centre and a beautiful café/restaurant serving lunch and dinner.
Explore the towers and gunnery atop the rocky outcrop at Blackrock Castle and wander through more than 400 years of Cork’s defended landscape.
Castle Rd, Blackrock, Cork
(021) 432 6120
St Fin Barre’s Cathedral
Cork’s Gothic Cathedral, Saint Fin Barre’s is built on the site where the city of Cork began. A monastery was founded here by St. Fin Barre, the patron saint of Cork, in the seventh century. According to tradition, he travelled from his island hermitage at Gougane Barra at the source of the river Lee to found what was to become the ‘School of Cork’, a site of Christian worship and teaching. That tradition of Christian worship has continued unbroken for over fourteen centuries and the settlements around the monastery grew into the city of Cork. Regarded as the first Bishop of Cork, Fin Barre’s name in Irish, ‘Fionnbarr’ means ‘fair headed’.
The Cathedral is opened all year round, for both pilgrims and visitors. Information leaflets are available in several languages and guided tours are provided on request at no extra charge.